CRRA Annual Conference Presentation Slides

Los Angeles, California 2015


Click on the Presenter Name to download the PowerPoint Presentation (if available); click on the Session number to download the audio file from the session.

Please Note: These presentation materials are provided as a service by CRRA and are intended ONLY for the personal use of our members and conference participants.  Do Not under any circumstances copy or distribute any speaker presentations without their express consent.  Do Not distribute the audio presentations under any circumstances.  Thank you.

Wednesday 8/5 Session Topic Presentation Title Presenter  Name Organization Email
Session 1 Zero Waste Climate Protection in CA & Beyond   Mark Gagliardi Recyclers Global Warming Council mgagliardi@oaklandnet.com
    West Coast Climate Forum Update Timonie Hood US EPA Region 9 hood.timonie@epa.gov
    Highest & Best Use Hierarchy Jamie Kaminski Zero Waste Canada jamie@happystan.com
    Zero Waste in CA Climate & Energy Policy Evan Johnson CalRecycle evan.johnson@calrecycle.ca.gov
Session 2 The Elephant in the Room - Let's Talk Organics (It's not so scary after all) Colleen Foster City of Oceanside cfoster@ci.oceanside.ca.us
Ana Carvalho City of San Diego acarvalho@sandiego.gov
Lynn France City of Chula Vista lfrance@ci.chula-vista.ca.us
Rick Anthony Zero Waste San Diego ricanthony@aol.com
Michael Wonsidler County of San Diego michael.wonsidler@sdcounty.ca.gov
Session 3 Green Business   Jo Fleming Environmental Innovations jo.fleming@envirocentives.com
      Courtney Lindberg City of Ventura clindberg@cityofventura.net
      Anna Frankel San Francisco Department of the Environment anna.frankel@sfgov.org
      George Payba LA Sanitation george.payba@lacity.org
      Lisa Ryder Moore Environmental Programs lisarydermoore@gmail.com
Session 4 Financing Your Recycling Facility Alice Scott Infrastructure and Economic Development Bank alice.scott@ibank.ca.gov
Marshalle  Graham CalRecycle marshalle.graham@calrecycle.ca.gov
Chris Houlemard CalRecycle chris.houlemard@calrecycle.ca.gov
Renee Webster-Hawkins CPCFA renee.websterhawkins@sto.ca.gov
Nancee Trombley I-Bank nancee.trombley@ibank.ca
Session 5 Definition of Zero Waste   Ruth Abbe Abbe & Associates LLC ruth.abbe@abbeassociates.com
       Paul Connett
pconnett@gmail.com
Session 6 Just In From Around the Globe - International Speakers Rodrigo Sabatini Zero Waste Brazil
Leslie Lukacs L2 Environmental leslie@l2environmental.com
Enzo Favoino Zero Waste Italy
Pal Martensson Zero Waste Sweden
Camile Duran Zero Waste Sweden
Uno Lim Zero Waste Philippines
Buddy  Boyd Zero Waste Canada
Session 7 Problem Products and Packaging Redesign   Ruth Abbe Global Recycling Council of CRRA ruth.abbe@abbeassociates.com
      Patty Moore Moore Recycling patty@moorerecycling.com
      Teresa Bui Californians Against Waste teresabui@cawrecycles.org
      Arthur Boone NCRA arboone3@gmail.com
Session 8 Food Waste Prevention and Food Rescue for the Hungry Jack Macy City of San Francisco jack.macy@sfgov.org
Andrew Shakman LeanPath ashakman@leanpath.com
Dana Frasz Foodshift dana@foodshift.net
Session 9 Funding the Future We Want   Rob Hilton HF&H Consultants rchilton@hfh-consultants.com
      Heidi Sanborn CPSC heidi@calpsc.org
      John Dane CRRA john@crra.com
Session 10 Organic Programs for the Future We Want City of San Diego on the Journey to Zero Food Waste Ana Carvalho City of San Diego ACarvalho@sandiego.gov
A Rind is A Terrible Thing to Waste - Promoting Curbside Food Scraps Collection KIM BRAUN CITY OF SANTA MONICA KIM.BRAUN@SMGOV.NET
Tales from the Field: Tools for Implementing Organics Programs from the Ground Up Trevor Blythe EcoNomics, Inc. trevor@economicsinc.net
U.S. EPA's Food Recovery Challenge and the Reducing Wasted Food & Packaging Program Andre Villasenor U.S. Environmental Protection Agency villasenor.andre@epa.gov
Rod Muir Sierra Club Canada
Session 11 Zero Waste in LA Film Industry   Amanda Scarano-Carter PGA Green West amanda@pgagreen.org
      Amy Hammes EcoSet Consulting amy@ecosetconsulting.com
      Lisa Day Fox Studios  
      Bert Ball L.A. SHARES bert@lashares.org
Session 12 Successful Multi-Family Composting - Yes, it can be done Jessica Aldridge Athens Services jaldridge@athensservices.com
Jason Sanders EcoSafe Zero Waste jason@ecosafezerowaste.com
Justin Schoenfelder Gilmore Investments jschoenfelder@gilmoredev.com
Lily Kelly Coalition for Resource Recovery, Global Green USA lkelly@globalgreen.org
Session 13 Implementing the Zero Waste Franchise   Karen Coca La Sanitation karen.coca@lacity.org
      Daniel Meyers City of Los Angeles daniel.meyers@lacity.org
      Lisa Carlson City of Los Angeles lisa.carlson@lacity.org
      Dave Jones CH2M Hill dave.jones@ch2m.com
      Jose Romero ILWU agustin.ramirez@ilwu.org
Session 14  AB 1826: Organics Lessons Learned from the Field Jack Macy SFE jack.macy@sfgov.org
Bob Horowitz CalRecycle robert.horowitz@calrecycle.ca.gov
Steven Chiv SFE steven.chiv@sfgov.org
Brian Mathews StopWaste bmathews@stopwaste.org
Session 15   EPR Policies: Get the Facts   Tedd Ward Del Norte SWMA tedd@recycledelnorte.ca.gov
      Neil Seldman Inst. For Local Self Reliance nseldman@ilsr.org
Session 16  Compost Use for Healthy Soils: Water Conservation Dan Noble USCC danwyldernoble@gmail.com
tbd LA Cash for Grass Program
John Wick Marin Soils Project johnwick@sonic.net
tbd Seattle Soils for Salmon Project
David Crohn UC Irvine david.crohn@uci.edu
Session 17   Spotlight on Plastic Recycling   Todd Sutton Waste Sleuth todd@wastesleuth.com
      Patty Moore Moore Recycling Assoc. patty@moorerecycling.com
      Sally Houghton Moore Recycling Assoc.  
      Stacey  Ward-Luddy Moore Recycling Assoc.  
      Nina Bellucci Moore Recycling Assoc.  
      Tonya Randall Moore Recycling Assoc.  
      Mike Centers Titus Services mccenters@earthlink.net
Session 18   Schools on the Path to Zero Waste The 90 Percent Challenge:  Changing the Culture of Wasting at Schools Jennifer Abbe AUSD greenjenabbe@gmail.com
A School on the Path to Zero Waste Billy Reid Salida USA BReid@salida.k12.ca.us
K-12 Recycling Challenge Ray Scott Keep California Beautiful tsouthsidesani@bak.rr.com 
Moderator Debbi Dodson Carton Council ddodson@san.rr.com
       
 





Thursday 8/6 Session Topic Presentation Title Presenter Name Organization Email
Session 19   Clean & Green Streets Carol Armstrong City of Los Angeles carol.armstrong@lacity.org
Leo  Martinez City of Los Angeles leo.martinez@lacity.org
Wing Tam City of Los Angeles wing.tam@lacity.org
Alex Helou City of Los Angeles alex.helou@lacity.org
Session 20   Market Report for E-waste, Matresses, and Plastics Implemeting California's Used Mattress and Recovery Act Mike O'Donnell Mattress Recycling Council mikeo@mattressrecyclingcouncil.org
Recycling E-Waste Responsibly -- The Importance of Protecting Digital Data John Shegerian Electronic Recyclers International lramos@electronicrecyclers.com
Office Equipment - Act Responsibly: Purchase, Use, Recycle Patricia Dillon State Electronics Challenge (Northeast Recycling Council) patty@stateelectronicschallenge.net
Alan  Ha San Jose Conservation Corps alanha01@gmail.com
Session 21   The New Zero Waste Paradigm Latest Tools to Protect Zero Waste Brand Richard Anthony Richard Anthony Associates
2014 Statewide Waste Characterization Study Presentation of Results - wants to present results of study with CalRecycle Staff Dieter Eckels Cascadia Consulting Group dieter@cascadiaconsulting.com
2014 Statewide Waste Characterization Study Presentation of Results - wants to present results of study with CalRecycle Staff Nancy Carr CalRecycle nancy.carr@calrecycle.ca.gov
"The Uberization of the Solid Waste Industry" Evan Edgar Organic Waste Solutions evan@edgarinc.org
Carrots & Stick, Incentives & Enforcement: San Francisco's Zero Waste approach to recycling and composting compliance Steven Chiv San Francisco Department of the Environment steven.chiv@sfgov.org
Monica Devincenzi Republic Services mdevincenzi@republicservices.com
Session 22   Achieving High Capture Rates for Organics Achieving High Capture Rates in a Major City: Case Study of SSO in Milan Christian Garaffa Novamont Christian.Garaffa@novamont.com
Food Waste Processing to Reclaim Highest Value Components: Water, Protein, Carbohydrate, Fiber, & FOG. Louie Pellegrini Mission Trail Waste Systems lpellegrini@missiontrail.com
Organics Exchange Program in Southern California Jessica Toth Solana Center for Environmental Innovation jessica@solanacenter.org
Jennifer Winfrey San Diego County jen.winfrey@sdcounty.ca.gov
Getting Ahead of the Game: Ventura's Schools Implement Organics Program Jill Santos City of Ventura jsantos@cityofventura.net
Session 23 Reuse and Repair Vignettes Strategies for Opening and Running Retail Reuse Warehouse Ted Reiff The ReUse People of America TedReiff@TheReUsePeople.org
Changing the Face of Donating, the New Storefront Model. Beth Forsberg Goodwill Industries of San Diego County Bforsberg@sdgoodwill.org
"RE-buildings..."   Reusing Resources to Address Community Concerns Carol Ashley Demo 2 Design carol@demo2design.com
Amy  Hammes
Session 24 Reducing Waste in the Arts - Artists Making the Change Justin Yoffe Arts Earth Partnership justyo@mac.com
Jolene  Hanson G2 Gallery director@theg2gallery.com
Rebecca Ehemann Green Public Art Consultancy rebecca@greenpublicart.com
Jessica Aldridge Athens Waste Services jaldridge@athensservices.com
Session 26 Stretching Your Municipal Budget Through Community Partnerships Colleen Foster City of Oceanside cfoster@ci.oceanside.ca.us
Lori Somers Waste Management lsomers1@wm.com
Rick Wright Main Street Oceanside mainsto-ed@pacbell.net
Pamela Lambert Oceanside Unified School District pamela.lambert@oside.us
Jenna Roripaugh City of Oceanside jroripaugh@ci.oceanside.ca.us
Session 27   Market Your Program Using Social Media and Other Technologies 4R Kids Exhibit Mobile Field Trip on Wheels Rachel Ross Tehama County Sanitary Landfill Agency rross@co.tehama.ca.us
Lessons Learned from Zero Waste Pursuits in the North - Diverting Organics from Businesses & Institutions Tamara Shulman Tetra Tech tamara.shulman@tetratech.com
Pauline Martinson I Love A Clean San Diego pmartinson@cleansd.org
Martie Solomon
Session 28   Carpet Recycling in California Carpet Recycling in California under AB 2398: Progress and Major Changes to Program Robert Peoples CARE bpeoples@carpetrecovery.com
Ronald Greitzer LA Fiber Company ron@lafiber.com
Wes Nelson GreenWaste wnelson@greenwaste.com
Brennen Jensen CARE bjensen@carpetrecovery.org
Robert Peoples CARE bpeoples@carpetrecovery.com
Session 29   Not just getting the Facts - Getting the message to matter Lisa Duba Gigantic Idea Studio lisa@gigantic-idea.com
Nancy Roberts Gigantic Idea Studio nancy@gigantic-idea.com
Stefanie Pruegel Gigantic Idea Studio stef@gigantic-idea.com
Peter Gallotta Gigantic Idea Studio peter@gigantic-idea.com
Session 30  Organics News From the Capitol  Evan Edgar Edgar & Associates evan@edgarinc.org
Nick Lapis CAW nicklapis@cawrecycles.org
Matt Cotton IWM Consulting matt@mattcotton.com
Session 31 Cartons for Recovery Cartons - Southern California Recovery, End Markets, and Innovations Jeff Epstein Carton Council jeff@cartonrecovery.com
Miguel Zermeno City of Los Angeles miguel.zermeno@lacity.org
Mike Centers Titus Services mccenters@earthlink.com
Dan  Domonoske Potential Industries daniel.domonoske@potentialindustries.com
Session 32   ReThink Disposable: Source Reduction of Single-Use Disposable Food and Beverage Packaging Samantha Sommer Clean Water Action ssommer@cleanwater.org
Rich Grousset BizeeBox, Inc. rich.grousset@bizeebox.com
John Hanscom John T. Hanscom Consulting jthanscom@gmail.com
Miriam Gordon Clean Water Action mgordon@cleanwater.org
Session 33   Program Implementation - Analyzing the Results Recycling with Integrity:  The Changing Waste Stream and our Drive for Diversion. Susan Robinson Waste Management srobinson@wm.com
Review of Current Beverage Container Recycling and Collection Systems in California George Donkor Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) george.donkor@calrecycle.ca.gov
Review of Current Beverage Container Recycling and Collection Systems in California Mike Miller Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) mike.miller@calrecycle.ca.gov
Green Grocery Stores in Brazil Tracie Bills SCS Engineers TBills@scsengineers.com
Susan Robinson Waste Management srobinson@wm.com
Session 34   Four Tech Trends that will Help Your Program Achieve Better Results Four tech trends that will help your program achieve better results Stephen Groner S. Groner Associates sgroner@sga-inc.net
Rachel Dowd S. Groner Associates rdowd@sga-inc.net
Philip Kao S. Groner Associates pkao@sgainc.net
Stephen Groner S. Groner Associates sgroner@sga-inc.net
Session 35   Creating Community Through Donation and Reuse Sarah Davis City of Oceanside sdavis@ci.oceanside.ca.us
Colleen Foster City of Oceanside cfoster@ci.oceanside.ca.us
April Andrews Goodwill Industries of San Diego County aandrews@sdgoodwill.org
Devon Strong Kit n Kaboodle devstrong1@hotmail.com


Friday 8/7 Session Topic Presentation Title Present Name Organization Email
Session 37  RFP-It And they Will Come- Developing Organics Programs and Infrastructure  Matt Cotton CORC matt@mattcotton.com
Rob Hilton HF&H rchilton@hfh-consultants.com
Karen Coca City of Los Angeles karen.coca@lacity.org
Session 38   Programs That Work Community Outreach in Multi-family Complexes Jessica Robinson Miss Alameda Says Compost and Northern California Recycling Association jessica_peace@yahoo.com
Zero Waste in a Retail Food Court Anne Krieghoff UCI Facilities Management Sustainability akriegho@uci.edu
We’re Stuck!  Strategies for Communities with Mature Recycling & Composting Collection Programs LISA Skumatz SERA SKUMATZ@SERAINC.COM
Burbank Master Recycler Program: Public/Private Partnership Olivia Sanchez Burrtec Waste Industries/City of Burbank osanchez@burrtec.com
Burbank Master Recycler Program: Public/Private Partnership Kreigh Hampel City of Burbank khampel@burbankca.gov
Martie Solomon City of Chula Vista msolomon@chulavista.ca.gov
Session 39   Metrics and Tools for Assessing and Establishing Community Zero Waste Programs Portia Sinnott GRRN/ZWUSA wastenot@sonic.net
Assessment Tools For High Diversion and Zero Waste Karen Irwin EPA Region 9 irwin.karen@epa.gov
Assessment Tools For High Diversion and Zero Waste Marty Seaman Resource Recycling Systems mseaman@recycle.com
Environmentally-Preferable Purchasing How-To Marivic Sabillo City of Los Angeles (Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Division, LA Sanitation) Marivic.Sabillo@lacity.org
Session 40  Programs for the Future CRYSTAL BALL: Organics Processing Contracts and Future Changes: feedstock composition and makets Constance Hornig Law Offices hornig@mswesq.com
The Road to Zero Waste Jesse Escobar University of California, Los Angeles jescobar@facnet.ucla.edu
Managing a Door to Door Residential Hazardous Waste Collection Program in Your City Cheri Donnelly City of Cupertino CheriD@Cupertino.org
Managing a Door to Door Residential Hazardous Waste Collection Program in Your City Alex Wykoff City of Cupertino alexw@cupertino.org
Managing a Door to Door Residential Hazardous Waste Collection Program in Your City Rob  D'Arcy County of Santa Clara rob.darcy@deh.sccgov.org


Jesse Escobar University of California, Los Angeles jescobar@facnet.ucla.edu
Session 41   Zero Waste at Special Events Zero Waste Athletics: Striving for Zero Waste at Football and Basketball Games Lin King UC Berkeley ltking@berkeley.edu
Professional surf contests are stoked to inspire sustainability and divert waste Kevin Whilden Sustainable Surf kevin@sustainablesurf.org
Going beyond zero waste at PGA events and venues Abbie Beane The Offset Project abbie@theoffsetproject.org
Moving up the hierarchy - Paving the way for reusables at large events Michael Siminitus Waste Busters Michael@wastebusters.info
Green Venue Report, Benchmarking Sustainabilty in the Events & Meetings Industry Johanna Walsh Twirl Management johanna@twirlmanagement.com
Moderator Lin King UC Berkeley ltking@berkeley.edu
Session 42  Creative Building Reuse and C&D Programs Toxic Trash - Recycling Interior Construction and Demolition Debris Richard Ludt Interior Removal Specialist, Inc. richard@irsdemo.com
Lori Marra City of Fremont lmarra@fremont.gov
Salvaging the Built Environment: historic preservation and adaptive reuse of notable buildings. Ted Reiff The ReUse People of America TedReiff@TheReUsePeople.org
Tyla Montgomery Inika Small Earth tylam@inikasmallearth.org
Session 43   Nuts and Bolts of AB 1826 Rob Hilton HF&H Consultants
Jennifer Wallin CalRecycle
Matt Cotton IWMC
Session 44   Repair and Share A Quarter Century of Managing LA's Materials Reuse Program Bert Ball L.A. SHARES bert@lashares.org
Tinkerers, Fixers, Sharers & Treasure Hunters: Promoting Reuse in Your Community Kim Braun CITY OF SANTA MONICA kim.braun@smgov.net
MANAGING SURPLUS PROPERTY TO GET TO ZERO WASTE Chelsea Klaseus City of San Diego cklaseus@sandiego.gov
MANAGING SURPLUS PROPERTY TO GET TO ZERO WASTE ANDREA ALTMANN CITY OF SAN DIEGO aaltmann@sandiego.gov
Increasing Large Item Recycling at MFDs Alana Rivadeneyra City of San Jose alana.rivadeneyra@sanjoseca.gov 
Session 45  Sustainable Materials Management for the Global Economy SMM Overview Cheryl Coleman US EPA coleman.cheryl@epa.gov
NRC's National Plan for Sustainable Materials Management Gary Liss Recyclers Global Warming Council gary@garyliss.com

Julie Haas-Wajdowicz Recyclers Global Warming Council jhaas-wajdowicz@ci.antioch.ca.us
Session 46   Good Food in LA Tyler Isaac Simply Nutty
Finian  Makepeace Kiss The Ground
Rishi Kumar Growing Home
Michael Martinez LA Compost
Rick Nahmias Food Forward
Claire Fox Good Food LA cfox@goodfoodla.org
Sission 47   "Plastic Paradise" - Film Screening with Angela Sun 
Charles Moore Algalita Marine Research and Education cmoore@algalita.org
Angela  Sun
Session 48 Producer Responsibility: How are they doing? Heidi Sanborn California Product Stewardship Council heidi@calpsc.org
Lisa Mekis Carpet Recovery
Mark Tibbetts Thermostat Recycling Corporation
Mike O'Donnell Mattress Recycling Council
Mark Kurschner Paint Care
Leo Raudys Call2Recycle


 California Resource Recovery Association   915 L Street, Suite C-216   Sacramento, CA 95814  (916) 441-2772

www.crra.com>>

Privacy Policy

 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software